August 08, 2020, 07:10:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Please note, the site is going through an UPGRADE currently Monday night.
  Home   Forum   Help Gallery Login Register Chat  
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: The History of the Dallas Cowboys  (Read 14204 times)
NFL Rookie
Offline Offline

Posts: 564

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Received: 0

« on: September 13, 2012, 08:48:42 PM »
<span style=Reply" align="middle" />Reply

With their inception into the NFL football league in 1960, the cowboys began their reign of success early on, but faced challenges along the way. In the beginning, Clint Murchison served as the Dallas Cowboy’s first owner and put in place the front office personnel that worked tirelessly to help the Dallas Cowboys attain unprecedented success in NFL football. The general managerial duties were given to Tex Schramm and Tom Landry was assigned the head coaching duties. Between the two of them they endured early failure in order to build the team toward greatness.

Between 1960 and 1965 the Dallas Cowboys suffered through five losing seasons and only recorded a .500 record during the 1965 NFL football season.  However, 1966 was the beginning of the change towards success that carried on until 1985. During this twenty year period the Dallas Cowboys had a winning season each year and made the playoffs all but two seasons. Their consecutive winning seasons streaks broke NFL football records and this dominance translated into five Super Bowl appearances. During this period of glory the Dallas Cowboys earned two Super Bowl titles.

Super Bowl VI was their first championship and helped to end the growing notion that the Dallas Cowboys were not elite enough to be championship material. After finally breaking through and securing a Super Bowl victory the Dallas Cowboys continued their brilliance.  Between 1975 and 1978 the Dallas Cowboys advanced to the Super Bowl three more times and secured their second NFL football championship in Super Bowl XII.

Quarterback Roger Staubach is one of the most beloved Dallas Cowboys players of all time and helped lead the team throughout their championship runs in the 1970’s. Roger Staubach was not alone as a hall of fame level talent on those teams. Rayfield White, Tony Dorsett and Randy White are just some of the all pro talent that helped the Dallas Cowboys cement a legacy of winning. This legacy of winning  up until the early 1980’s helped the Dallas Cowboys develop the moniker of America’s Team. This made any Dallas Cowboy’s apparel or merchandise very popular.

The success started to end in the late 1980’s and the Dallas Cowboys had a losing record in 1986. This failure inspired change at many levels. Jerry Jones became owner of the Dallas Cowboys after he purchased the team in 1989. Jones continued the renovation by selecting Jimmy Johnson as the new head coach, stepping in for Landry. The success was not immediate, but everything quickly changed with editions of Troy Aikman and Emit Smith.  During the 1990’s the Dallas Cowboys won three Super Bowls and accomplished this honor while enduring a coaching change from Jones to Switzer.

Over the years, the Dallas Cowboys have changed stadiums and recently upgraded from Texas Stadium to Cowboys Stadium. The latter seats up to 80,000 fans and has a state of the art facility. Even though the Dallas Cowboys have not enjoyed championship success since the 1990’s, they are still referred to as America’s team and always have high expectations.

Do you enjoy this site?  If so, do us a favor and help promote us by passing our link around in other forums/message boards/blogs that you are a member of: .  Thanks Smiley
Pages: [1]
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
SimplePortal 2.3 © 2008-2009, SimplePortal
| Sitemap
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!